Florida DUI License Suspension Penalties
In the State of Florida, if you’re charged with drunk-driving or refusing to take a chemical test, you will be faced with the suspension of your driver’s license. Because driving is an essential component to modern-day life, losing your driver’s license can seriously impact your career and lifestyle. However, if you act quickly, you can challenge your driver’s license suspension and obtain a temporary driving permit. Alternatively, you may qualify for a restricted driver’s license.
Challenging Your Driver’s License Suspension
If you’re arrested for drunk-driving in Florida, the suspension of your driver’s license is automatic. If you choose to challenge your driver’s license suspension, you must act quickly! You have only ten days from the date of your arrest to file a demand for a formal review hearing. If you request a formal review hearing, you will be eligible for a temporary driving permit while you await the outcome of the hearing. A formal review hearing is similar to a courtroom proceeding. The police officer who arrested you and requested and/or administered a chemical test of your breath, blood or urine will testify against you. Your attorney will then have the opportunity to cross-examine the police officer. Your attorney will also be able to offer evidence in your favor as well as present a legal argument to save your driver’s license.
Waiving Your Challenge to the Suspension of Your Driver’s License
Depending upon the facts and circumstances of your arrest, if may be more beneficial for you to waive the suspension of your driver’s license. If you choose this option, you may be eligible for a restricted driver’s license. With this option you will avoid the temporary loss of your driving privileges. However, if you are a repeat offender or if you hold an out-of-state driver’s license, you are ineligible for a restricted driver’s license.
Suspension of Your Driver’s License: Possible Penalties
If you unsuccessfully challenge the loss of your driver’s license or waive the challenge altogether, your penalty will depend upon whether or not you complied with Florida’s implied consent law. If you agreed to take a breath, blood or urine test, you will only lose your license for 30 days. However, if you refused testing, you will lose your license for 90 days.